• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
Cleared Cyber Security Jobs | CyberSecJobs.com

Cleared Cyber Security Jobs | CyberSecJobs.com

Cleared Cyber Security Jobs

  • Home
  • Search Cleared Cyber Jobs
  • Job Fairs
  • Career Resources
You are here: Home / Certifications / DoD 8140 Certification Expiration and Continuing Education

DoD 8140 Certification Expiration and Continuing Education

DoD 8140 certification list entries do not override vendor expiration. Separate credential renewal, annual development, records, and lapse response.

9 min read October 21, 2026 Certifications
What’s inside
  1. What does the DoD 8140 certification list actually approve?
  2. Does approval in a matrix freeze a certification in time?
  3. How long are Security+ and GIAC certifications good for?
  4. What did DoD’s Good-for-Life guidance say?
  5. When does annual DoD professional development begin?
  6. Can certification renewal activity count toward DoD currency?
  7. What should you track for dates, credits, fees, and status?
  8. What should you do if a required certification lapses?
  9. Frequently Asked Questions

A DoD 8140 certification list does not give a credential permanent status. The approved option must match the position’s cyber work role and proficiency level, while the issuer determines whether an individual credential remains active. After full qualification, covered personnel also have an annual DoD professional-development obligation that runs on a separate clock.

Key takeaways

  • Match the position: verify the assigned work role, proficiency level, and applicable qualification matrix.
  • Track two clocks: vendor renewal and DoD continuous professional development are related but distinct.
  • Check legacy credentials: August 2024 transition guidance rejected Good-for-Life treatment, but current DoD materials have replaced that document.
  • Keep the designation: for DoD civilians and Service members, the signed Letter of Designation fixes the matrix version that applies.
  • Escalate a lapse: missed annual development voids foundational qualification for those government members; an expired certificate still requires a program-office review.
For employers
Hiring cleared cyber professionals?
Post your cleared cyber req where security-cleared candidates already search.

Post a Cleared Job

For job seekers
Cleared and working in cyber?
Browse cleared cyber roles from employers hiring right now.

Browse Cleared Cyber Jobs

What does the DoD 8140 certification list actually approve?

It identifies certification options aligned to particular DCWF work roles and proficiency levels. It is not one universal list that qualifies every holder for every cyber position. Start with the position’s assigned role and level, then read the current matrix for that combination.

DoDM 8140.03 says each cyberspace work role has an associated qualification matrix. The matrix identifies options for achieving the foundational qualification. Personnel certification is one option; education and training may also appear. The August 2025 experience process is narrower: it limits that conditional alternative to specified DoD civilian and military incumbents who held coded IT, cybersecurity, or enabler positions as of December 16, 2024, under severe operational constraints. It expires December 31, 2027 for cybersecurity roles and December 31, 2028 for IT and enabler roles. Contractors should follow the qualification path stated in the contract.

A certification therefore answers only part of the qualification question. You still need the right work-role match, the required proficiency level, and any resident or environment-specific requirements applicable to the position; the broader comparison of cybersecurity certifications can help distinguish credential subject areas, but it cannot replace the official matrix or establish that the hiring organization’s remaining conditions have been met.

The official DoD 8140 resource page and its document library point candidates to the current qualification matrices. Check them when applying and onboarding. A screenshot from an old job forum is not current qualification evidence.

For DoD civilians and Service members, the September 2026 supplemental guidance says a signed DoD 8140 Letter of Designation ties the member to the matrix version in effect when the qualification timeline begins. A later matrix update does not remove an existing qualification. Re-coding the member to a different work role or proficiency level voids that status and requires requalification against the current matrix.

Record Question it answers Controlling source What to save
Qualification matrix Does this credential align to this work role and level? Current DoD matrix Role, level, matrix version, and approved option
Credential account Is the certification active? Issuing body Issue date, expiration date, credits, fees, and status
Professional-development record Has annual DoD development been documented? DoD policy and Component process Activity, relevance, completion evidence, hours, and reporting acceptance
Position requirements Are extra conditions imposed? Component, command, or contract Written requirement and responsible contact

Does approval in a matrix freeze a certification in time?

No. Matrix approval concerns alignment to a work role and proficiency level; the issuer’s rules determine active credential status. A certification name can stay in a matrix while an individual holder’s credential expires, so verify both the matrix and your account.

The matrix does not update an issuer’s account or complete the issuer’s renewal process. Record the provider’s expiration date, credit status, fees, and final renewal confirmation separately from the DoD work-role record.

Approval can be narrow. The Manual says certifications are nominated for alignment to specific work roles and proficiency levels, and an approval at a higher proficiency level also applies to lower levels within that same work role. It does not say that higher-level approval automatically transfers across unrelated roles.

When reading an announcement, identify the position’s work-role code and level before mapping your credential. If the posting uses an old category, ask the recruiter or cyber workforce program contact how the actual position is coded. Do not silently substitute an old DoD 8570 category for a current DCWF role.

How long are Security+ and GIAC certifications good for?

The issuing body sets the cycle. CompTIA’s Security+ V7 page says that credential is valid for three years and lists renewal options. GIAC states that its certifications require renewal every four years and offers a continuing-education route using thirty-six credits during that cycle.

For Security+, use the expiration shown in your CompTIA account and follow the current Security+ renewal options. The three-year period answers “does Security+ expire?” but not which activities, fees, or submissions remain outstanding in your specific account.

For a GIAC credential, the GIAC renewal policy says renewal is required every four years and that credits must be acquired during the active four-year period. GIAC’s current renewal page calls for thirty-six credits over four years on the continuing-professional-education route. Assignment, documentation, and payment are handled through the holder’s account.

Other issuers differ. Use the certification body’s live policy and your account dashboard rather than copying the Security+ or GIAC schedule to a different credential; the certification-planning framework is useful for sequencing exams and budgeting study time, while the issuer remains authoritative for maintenance, submission, audit, reinstatement, and final status.

What did DoD’s Good-for-Life guidance say?

DoD’s August 2024 transition guidance said Good-for-Life certifications were not valid under DoD 8140 and that certifications had to be maintained on the issuer’s schedule. The July 2026 learning modules absorbed that transition module, and the current document library no longer lists the 2024 file.

Treat the 2024 language as DoD’s last published statement on Good-for-Life credentials, not as a current blanket rule proved by the replacement modules. Confirm how an older credential is handled with the Component cyber workforce program office. The legacy statement concerns use in the qualification program; it does not erase the credential from the issuer’s history.

If you hold an older version, take the exact title, issue date, status, and verification record to the hiring organization. Ask which current matrix option it accepts for the coded role. The answer belongs to the authorized DoD workforce process, not to a resume keyword match.

When does annual DoD professional development begin?

For the employee described by the Manual, CPD begins in the fiscal year after both foundational and resident qualifications are complete. The minimum is twenty hours per year. The July 2026 learning modules likewise state that covered CWF personnel complete twenty hours per fiscal year after satisfying both qualifications.

The Manual’s audience matters. Its qualification procedures distinguish DoD civilian employees and Service members from contracted support personnel. Contractors must meet foundational requirements when cyber work starts; resident qualification applies only when the Component requires it and the contract states the requirement and method.

A January 2026 DFARS class deviation, effective February 1, removed references to DoD Directive 8140.01, DoD 8570.01-M, and DFARS clause 252.239-7001. A May 27, 2026 DoD CIO memo says Components must update contracts to the DCWF work-role requirements. The older statement that contractors remained under DoD 8570 no longer holds; detailed implementation guidance was still under development when the memo was issued.

The August 2024 transition matrix used the phrase “minimum of 20 hours annually or what is required to maintain certification; whichever is greater.” The current Manual states the twenty-hour annual minimum. If your credential requires more credits per year, ask the program office whether it expects the higher figure, and keep the issuer’s multi-year cycle rules separate.

CPD can include relevant coursework, training, seminars, documented membership in professional or technical societies, cyber ranges, exercises, virtual labs, webcasts, authorized mentoring, self-study, examinations, and publication. Eligibility still depends on relevance and the Component’s documentation process. Attendance alone is not proof that the activity was accepted.

Can certification renewal activity count toward DoD currency?

Yes, when the credits support continuing education for the certification used for the cyber work role. DoDM 8140.03 says those credits count toward the CPD requirement, while also stating that CPD does not excuse the certification body’s maintenance rules.

Before committing time or money, check whether both systems will grant credit. Confirm that the issuer accepts the activity for the credential and that the Component accepts it for the work-role development record, then save both approvals when available because one organization’s acceptance does not bind the other.

Keep the evidence each system needs: course title, provider, subject, completion date, hours or credits, certificate of completion, payment record when relevant, and the work-role connection. If a course produces different hour and credit values, record them in separate fields rather than treating them as interchangeable.

A higher credential may also affect a vendor’s renewal system, but that effect is issuer-specific. Check the current rules before assuming a new exam renews every credential below it. For candidates focused on one entry-level path, the Security+ cleared-career explanation can frame where the credential fits without replacing CompTIA’s maintenance policy.

What should you track for dates, credits, fees, and status?

Use one register with separate rows for each obligation. Record the credential’s issue and expiration dates, the issuer’s cycle, required and accepted credits, maintenance fees, submission deadlines, account status, and evidence location. Add a separate annual row for DoD CPD and the approving office.

Set reminders early. Leave enough time for activity approval and processing because “course completed” differs from “credit accepted,” and “fee paid” differs from “renewal complete.” After every submission, capture the status displayed by the issuer and retain the underlying evidence where you can retrieve it during an audit.

For the DoD side, capture the assigned work role, proficiency level, foundational path, resident-qualification completion where applicable, fiscal year, reported activities, confirming official, signed Letter of Designation, and matrix version. If the position changes, recheck the matrix. A credential aligned to the previous role may not be the selected option for the new one.

What should you do if a required certification lapses?

Notify the responsible supervisor, employer contact, and cyber workforce program office promptly, then obtain the issuer’s written reinstatement options. For DoD civilians and Service members, the September 2026 supplemental guidance says continued foundational qualification depends on remaining in the same work role and proficiency level and completing annual professional development. Missing the annual requirement, or being re-coded to a different role or level, voids the status and requires requalification against the matrix then in effect.

The supplemental guide does not state what an expired certificate does to someone already qualified. Ask the program office how it applies to the specific position; a Component or contract can still require a current credential. The employment or duty consequence therefore depends on the position, personnel category, Component rules, and contract.

Do not represent an expired credential as active on a resume or application. State the status accurately and provide a documented recovery plan only when asked. Avoid promising a renewal date until the issuer confirms that the selected path is available and your evidence has been accepted.

The organization should determine whether another approved foundational option already applies, whether temporary action is authorized, and what documentation must change. Those are management determinations. Your useful contribution is a clean record: last active date, cause of lapse, current issuer status, available remedy, expected processing, and the work role affected.

Open your credential dashboard now and compare its expiration date with the annual CPD register. Send any mismatch or missing acceptance record to the authorized program contact while there is still time to correct it.

CyberSecJobs.com and ClearedJobs.NET connect cleared cyber talent with the employers who need it.
Whether you are hiring for a cleared cyber req or holding a clearance and looking, start here.

Post a Cleared JobBrowse Cleared Cyber Jobs

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there one universal DoD 8140 certification list?

No. Qualification matrices align options to specific DCWF work roles and proficiency levels. Identify the coded role and level for the position, then use the current official matrix rather than a generic or archived certification chart.

Does Security+ certification expire?

Yes, for a Security+ credential in CompTIA’s continuing-education program. CompTIA says the certification expires three years after it is earned unless renewed. Verify the exact date, remaining activities, fees, and completed status in your own account.

How long are GIAC certifications good for?

GIAC says its certifications require renewal every four years. Its continuing-education renewal path calls for thirty-six credits within the active cycle, along with the required account submissions and payment. Check the live GIAC policy for the credential and your account status.

Do certification credits automatically satisfy DoD CPD?

Credits earned to maintain a certification for the cyber work role can count toward CPD under DoDM 8140.03. Document them through the Component process as well as the issuer’s system; acceptance by one system should not be assumed to complete the other record.

Does an expired certification automatically end a DoD cyber job?

For DoD civilians and Service members, missing annual professional development voids foundational qualification under the September 2026 supplemental guidance. The guide does not state the effect of an expired certificate on someone already qualified; report it promptly so the program office can apply the position, Component, and contract requirements.

Certifications

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

Cleared Cyber Security Jobs | CyberSecJobs.com

  • Contact
  • About
  • Privacy Policy